UCLG – Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation

The UCLG Guangzhou International Award for Urban Innovation, commonly abbreviated as the Guangzhou Award, was launched in 2012 and is presented biannually in the City of Guangzhou, China. Co-hosted by UCLG, the World Association of Major Metropolises (Metropolis) as well as the Guangzhou Municipal Government, the Guangzhou Award rewards innovations that improve socio-economic environments, promote sustainability and advance the livelihood of inhabitants of a city or a region. This award hence aims to encourage innovative projects by recognizing outstanding innovative practices initiated in the public sector.

2016 will see the 3rd edition of the Guangzhou Award. Previous editions have honored a total of 10 initiatives coming from 10 cities or regions worldwide. This year’s edition is special in that it will at the same time serve as a platform to inform the public of initiatives implemented in the adoption of Goal 11 of the UN’s SDGs: 15 shortlisted cities including the 5 winners will thus have the opportunity to make their voices heard by presenting their initiatives and contributions to the attainment of Goal 11 of the Agenda for SDGs by an international community of experts, as well as have their projects featured in exhibitions, professional and academic journals, policy papers and briefs, newsletters and websites that reach out to thousands of readers from a number of cities worldwide.

Any city or region in the world including UCLG and Metropolis members which have initiatives that meet the combined criteria of being an original undertaking that is still ongoing or recently completed with substantial proof of impact that is in line with its original objective are eligible for application. All participations should be registered before June 30th 2016 with the Guangzhou Award Secretariat and for further details regarding guidelines on eligibility as well as submission procedures please refer to the following link : http://www.guangzhouaward.org  and strictly follow the Calendar below:


June 30th 2016 – Registration deadline (Expression of interest)

August 31st 2016 – Submission deadline (Submission of initiatives)

October 2016 – Announcement of the 15 short-listed cities after evaluation by the Technical Committee

December 2016 – Final selection by the Jury; the Guangzhou Award Ceremony

The five winning cities will be announced at the Award Ceremony and will receive a 20000 USD prize each as reward.

UCLG City of Bogotá Peace Prize

The UCLG City of Bogota Peace Prize was launched in 2008 following the First World Conference on City Diplomacy, where proposal to launch a local government peace prize in order to highlight the role of local governments in promoting peace, dialogue and reconstruction throughout the world were put forward, resulting in the creation of the UCLG City of Bogota Peace Prize. The Prize hence is to be awarded to local governments who either work to prevent or overcome conflicts in their own community, or who have helped local governments in conflict areas in their striving for peace or justice.

The UCLG City of Bogotá Peace Prize is supported by the Provincial Council of Barcelona and developed with expertise of PAX and VNG International, within the framework of the UCLG Committee on Development Cooperation and City Diplomacy.


In order to apply for the UCLG City of Bogotá Peace Prize for local governments, please refer to the official registration page (http://www.peaceprize.uclg.org/en/apply) and complete the application form.


November 2015: Peace Prize presented, nominations invited

May 31st 2016: Closing date for nominations

July 2016: Final shortlist of 6 nominees chosen by the Jury.

October 2016: Jury convenes to hear oral presentations made by shortlisted local governments. The Award Ceremony takes place during the UCLG World Congress in Bogotá between October 12th and 15th 2016.

International Award UCLG - MEXICO City - Culture21

The objective of the "International Award UCLG – MEXICO CITY – Culture 21" is to recognise leading cities and individuals that have distinguished themselves through their contribution to culture as a key dimension in sustainable cities.

The "International Award UCLG – MEXICO CITY – Culture 21" has two categories: the City / Local or Regional Government Award, which recognises a city, local or regional government the cultural policy of which has contributed significantly to linking the values of culture (heritage, diversity, creativity and transmission of knowledge) with democratic governance, citizen participation and sustainable development, and the Individual Award, which recognises an internationally renowned individual who has made a fundamental contribution to the relationship between culture and sustainable development.


In May 2016, the Jury selected the winners:

-  In the category “City, Local or Regional Government”: the city of Timbuktu, for their programme “Cultural heritage and reinvigoration of socio-economic activities in Timbuktu”, and the city of Vaudreuil-Dorion, for their programme “I am… / The adventure of one community in the middle of a transformation”.

-  In the “Individual” category: Jon Hawkes and Silvia Rivera Cusicanqui.

 The Jury also decided to give a special mention to the following cities:

-   Busan (Republic of Korea) – “Historic downtown culture cluster ‘Totatoga’”

-   Dakar (Senegal) – “School of Commons”

-   Kaunas (Lithuania) – “The Šančiai Cabbage Field Project – small scale seeks big transformation”

-   Lake Megantic (Quebec, Canada) – “Rebuilding Lake Mégantic”

-   Montevideo (Uruguay) – “Cultural Co-Management Civic Centre: SACUDE”


December 5th 2015 ı Launch of the Call. 
March 15th 2016 ı Deadline for submission of applications. 
May 2016 ı Selection of winners.
May 27th 2016 ı Announcement of the winners.
Late 2016 ı Awards ceremony in Mexico City.

The Awards ceremony will take place in Mexico City in October or November 2016.




UCLG-MEWA Congress was held on 9-10 July 2019 under the auspices of Greater Amman Municipality. In addition to the governing bodies of the Organization for the 2019-2022 Period, Presidencies of the UCLG-MEWA Committees were determined as well.

 4th UCLG Culture Summit 2021: Call for candidacies

Since the founding Congress of Paris, culture has been at the heart of UCLG’s policy agenda


UCLG-MEWA Congress to be held in Amman, Jordan, on 9-10 July 2019, UCLG-MEWA will hold elections to determine its governing bodies and Presidency for the period 2019-2022


The Center for Mediterranean Integration (CMI), 48 municipalities from countries such as Iraq, Jordan, Lebanon, Palestine, Turkey, Afghanistan, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Uganda, and many international organizations will gather together in Amman on June 30, 2019.

 "No city is a party to any war"

Today is the 16th of May, United Nations International Day of Living Together in Peace. Until 2019, our world has faced many periods making difficult to live together.

 UCLG-MEWA LOCAL GOVERNMENT TALKS "Human Capital, Qualified Education and Development"

UCLG-MEWA Local Government Talks" "Human Capital – Qualified Education and Development”" 21 March Thursday 2019

 UCLG-MEWA Committee on Development Cooperation and City Diplomacy & UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment Meetings

2nd Meeting of the UCLG-MEWA Committee on Development Cooperation and City Diplomacy and the 4th Meeting of the UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment will be held on 15-17 April 2019, in Ramallah, Palestine.


The event will take place on 12-15 February 2019, in Berlin, Germany.

 UCLG Annual Retreat 2019 & Meeting of UCLG Committee on Statutory Affairs

2019 edition of UCLG Annual Retreat will take place on 11-15 February 2019, in Barcelona, Spain.