Committee on Environment


Cities who are responsible for the 60% of the total greenhouse gas emissions and also 78% of the global energy consumption, they become more vulnerable to negative effects of climate change with time, especially with the high city population. In all crises and disasters, the responsibility to meet the expectations and needs of citizens first falls on the local governments.

Natural disasters, diseases and the effects of these problems on the vulnerable groups are enhanced with climate crisis. In return, local governments’ responsibilities are increasing and city resilience become more important each day.  In this context, Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction is considered to be an umbrella document for local governments in terms of disaster management and urban resilience.  In addition, global documents on integrated water and energy management, clean water and sanitation, solid waste and gray water management and protection of biodiversity are serving as guiding documents for local efforts.

UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment provides capacity building opportunities to local governments by collaborating with different stakeholders to report carbon emissions of local governments, respond to disasters and crises, participate in green transformation, and particularly localize the global policy documents issued in this area.

Therefore, UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment is conducting its activities by prioritizing the following subjects:

  • Instigating local governments for Carbon-neutral cities
  • Increasing Urban Resilience
  • Building capacities on Energy, Water and Gray Water Management
  • Mainstreaming Climate Action Plans
  • 🇹🇷 Gaziantep Metropolitan MunicipalityPresident
  • 🇹🇷 Balıkesir Metropolitan MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇵🇸 Dura MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇵🇸 Association of Palestinian Local Authorities (APLA)Co-President
  • Güzelyurt MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇱🇧 Saida MunicipalityCo-President
Member List
No. Institution Country 
1. Al-Buraij Municipality Palestine
2. Antalya Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
3. Arab Towns Organization (ATO) Kuwait
4. Asira Al-Shamaliya Municipality Palestine
5. Assoun Municipality Lebanon
6. Bağcılar Municipality Türkiye
7. Bani Suhaila Municipality Palestine
8. Baninaim Municipality Palestine
9. Başakşehir Municipality Türkiye
10. Beit Jala Municipality Palestine
11. Beitunia Municipality Palestine
12. Beyarmudu Municipality TRNC
13. Bikaasefrine Municipality Lebanon
14. Büyükçekmece Municipality Türkiye
15. Deirnbouh Municipality Lebanon
16. Diyarbakır Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
17. Gölcük Municipality Türkiye
18. Greater Irbid Municipality Jordan
19. Karatay Municipality Türkiye
20. Karesi Municipality Türkiye
21. Kocaeli Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
22. Konya Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
23. Mersin Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
24. Mezitli Municipality Türkiye
25. Mrah Sraj Municipality Lebanon
26. Nablus Municipality Palestine
27. Ordu Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
28. Selçuklu Municipality Türkiye
29. Sier Municipality Palestine
30. Sultanbeyli Municipality Türkiye
31. Union of Albouhiara Municipalities Lebanon
32. Union of City Councils of Türkiye Türkiye
33. Union of Dannieh Municipalities Palestine
34. Union of Jabal El Sheikh Municipalities Lebanon
35. World Academy for Local Government and Democracy (WALD) Türkiye
Committee Focal Point

International Relations Department