Committee on Smart Cities and Urban Mobility


Cities experience various problems caused by the disproportional population growth. Metropolitan Cities may have difficulty to meet the needs with fast and efficient services, especially in times of disasters and crises.  From time to time, providing services regarding fundamental societal needs such as housing, urban transport, education and production-consumption may become a burden for local governments. There is a need for sustainable solutions in times of fast-paced technology to global concepts which are affecting local level such as climate change and migration, regardless of the city scale.

However, as stated in the New Urban Agenda, local governments are big part of the solution as they are big part of the problem.  Informal modes of transportation are emerging in the MEWA Region due to the high difference in income distribution. These informal modes of transportation are not considered safe since they cannot be regulated.  By disseminating new trends, such as micro mobility or shared mobility trends, different approaches to mobility should be provided to citizens and unsafe ways to travel should be annihilated. It is also important for local governments to produce sustainable solutions in their city planning like data-based policies, green buildings, inclusive urban transport and others.  In light of these information, the prioritized activity areas for UCLG-MEWA are as follows:

  • Building capacities in regard to safe and disaggregated data.
  • Improving sustainable urban transport.
  • Mainstreaming safe and diverse transportation modes.
  • Instigating inclusive, transparent and sustainable cities.
  • 🇮🇷 Tehran MunicipalityPresident
  • 🇹🇷 Gaziantep Metropolitan MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇹🇷 Gebze MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇯🇴 Greater Irbid MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇵🇸 Ramallah MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇹🇷 Şanlıurfa Metropolitan MunicipalityCo-President
Member List
1 Abasan Al-Kabira Municipality Palestine
2 Adana Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
3 Ain El Tineh Municipality Lebanon
4 Al Buraij Municipality Palestine
5 Altındağ Municipality Türkiye
6 Ankara Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
7 Arab Towns Organization (ATO) Kuwait
8 Bağcılar Municipality Türkiye
9 Bakhoun Municipality Lebanon
10 Balıkesir Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
11 Bani Suhaila Municipality Palestine
12 Baninaim Municipality Palestine
13 Beit Jala Municipality Palestine
14 Beit Lahia Municipality Palestine
15 Beit Sahour Municipality Palestine
16 Bikaasafrine Municipality Lebanon
17 Büyükçekmece Municipality Türkiye
18 Gaziosmanpaşa Municipality Türkiye
19 Güzelyurt Municipality TRNC
20 Harf Siyad Municipality Lebanon
21 Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
22 Karesi Municipality Türkiye
23 Khan Younis Municipality Palestine
24 Konya Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
25 Makseh Municipality Lebanon
26 Mashhad Municipality Iran
27 Mezitli Municipality Türkiye
28 Mrah Es Sraj Municipality Lebanon
29 Nuseirat Municipality Palestine
30 Ordu Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
31 Rize Municipality Türkiye
32 Salfeet Municipality Palestine
33 Selçuklu Municipality Türkiye
34 Sier Municipality Palestine
35 Sultanbeyli Municipality Türkiye
36 Syr Municipality Lebanon
37 Union of Albeqaa Alawsat Municipalities Lebanon
38 Union of Chark Zahleh Municipalities Lebanon
39 Union of City Councils of Türkiye Türkiye
40 Union of Dannieh Municipalities Lebanon
41 Union of Energy Cities Türkiye
42 Union of Jerd El Kaytee Municipalities Lebanon
43 Union of Turkish Municipalities of Cyprus TRNC
44 Ümraniye Municipality Türkiye
45 Ürgüp Municipality Türkiye
46 World Academy for Local Government and Democracy (WALD) Türkiye
47 *Antalya Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
48 * Karatay Municipality Türkiye
49 *Trabzon Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
Committee Focal Point

Communication and Information Technologies Department