Committee on Social Inclusion


The destructive effects of climate change, natural disasters, wars, economic crises and many other problems are mostly seen on the vulnerable parts of our society. Therefore, the city’s resilience can manifest itself most in the strategies and policies adopted for the disadvantaged groups in that city. These strategies and policies will be more feasible and effective, especially when they are fed by local dynamics.

The Middle East and West Asia Region is frequently referred to when it comes to the subject of migration. Migration management and social cohesion are always of a priority in the region’s agenda, a region that is home to the biggest numbers of migrants.

The issue of social inclusion is of vital importance in terms of mitigating, eliminating or preventing negative effects in cities. The most critical aspect of ensuring social cohesion is that efforts to achieve this begin locally. The realization of change starting from the bottom up is a key element in reaching more permanent solutions in cities. By adopting this approach, the UCLG-MEWA Committee on Social Inclusion acts as a bridge between local and global levels to develop more coherent policies.

The working areas of the committee are as follows:

  • Migration and refugees
  • Homelessness
  • Disability
  • Old age
  • Poverty
  • Children and youth

The Committee also operates within the scope of localizing framework documents in international migration legislation such as the Global Compact on Refugees (GCR) and the Global Compact for Safe, Systematic and Regular Migration (GCM). In this context, the committee carries out the secretariat role of the Global Task Force on Migration (GTFM), which is the follow-up mechanism of the Gaziantep Declaration which was opened for signature in 2019 to work as an experience sharing platform in the fields of migration and refugees.

  • 🇹🇷 The Union of Municipalities of Türkiye (TBB)President
  • 🇹🇷 Adana Metropolitan MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇹🇷 Beylikdüzü MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇵🇸 Salfeet MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇹🇷 Sultanbeyli MunicipalityCo-President
  • 🇮🇷 Tehran MunicipalityCo-President
Member List
No. Institution Country
1. Arab Towns Organization (ATO) Kuwait
2. Bakhoun Municipality Lebanon
3. Beit El Faqs Municipality Lebanon
4. Bkarsouna Municipality Lebanon
5. Büyükçekmece Municipality Türkiye
6. Diyarbakır Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
7. Dura Municipality Palestine
8. Eyyübiye Municipality Türkiye
9. Gaziantep Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
10. Greater Amman Municipality Jordan
11. Greater Irbid Municipality Jordan
12. Güzelyurt Municipality TRNC
13. Kahramanmaraş Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
14. Karesi Municipality Türkiye
15. Makseh Municipality Lebanon
16. Mersin Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
17. Nuseirat Municipality Palestine
18. Qarsita Municipality Lebanon
19. Syr Municipality Lebanon
20. Şanlıurfa Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
21. Union of Al Sahel Municipalities Lebanon
22. Union of Albeqaa Alawsat Municipalities Lebanon
23. Union of City Counsils of Türkiye Türkiye
24. Union of Khalid Valley Municipalities Lebanon
25. Union of Minieh Municipalities Lebanon
26. Urla Municipality Türkiye
27. World Academy for Local Government and Democracy (WALD) Türkiye
28. *Al Buraij Municipality Palestine
29. *Bağcılar Municipality Türkiye
30. *Baninaim Municipality Palestine
31. *Karatay Municipality Türkiye
32. *Ordu Metropolitan Municipality Türkiye
33. *Sier Municipality Palestine
34. *Union of Dannieh Municipalities Lebanon
Committee Focal Point

International Relations Department