Hosted by Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality, 2nd Meeting of UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment was held on 30-31 May 2016 in Istanbul, Turkey.
The meeting included important discussions after Paris Climate Summit and then Habitat III. 400 participants from Turkey and other 13 countries have attended the meeting, which resulted in the adoption of the revised version of Malatya Declaration as Istanbul Declaration of Malatya Agreement by unanimous vote.

Subsequent to the discussions on membership mobility, membership applications of Dura Municipality, Nablus Municipality, Beit Jala Municipality, Sana’a Municipality, Tabriz Metropolitan Municipality, Hatay Metropolitan Municipality, Karesi Municipality, Gölcük Municipality, Diyarbakır Metropolitan Municipality and World Academy for Local Government and Democracy (WALD) were approved by unanimous vote, raising the number of members of the UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment to 22. The applications made by Sana’a Municipality, Dura Municipality and Tabriz Metropolitan Municipality, to become the Co-Presidents of the UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment were also accepted with unanimous vote, raising the member number of UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment Co-Presidents to 6.
The 3rd Meeting of UCLG-MEWA Committee on Environment is also decided to be hosted by Dura Municipality, or Seferihisar Municipality as the second alternative.

Comments are disabled